Bringing Associations Together To Boost Performance


SHPA President steps down

The announcement of record attendance for an annual Australian scientific pharmacy conference has provided a fitting finale as Professor Michael Dooley announced he was stepping down as President of the Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia (SHPA).

With a total of 1,303 individuals attending across the four days of Medicines Management 2018 in Brisbane, the event is the largest National Conference in SHPA’s history, an event marked by personal and professional celebrations as Australian hospital pharmacy continues to go from strength to strength.

Incoming President Peter Fowler paid tribute to Professor Dooley’s vision and leadership over four years, a period that has seen strong financial growth enable consistent investment in hospital pharmacists, technicians and pharmacy assistants.

‘It is most fitting that we celebrate Professor Dooley’s presidency on stage at this record-breaking conference, such is his outsized impact and lasting legacy on our organisation.

‘SHPA members are a buzzing community of medicines experts with more opportunities than ever to consolidate their practice, maximise their professional impact and improve patient care.

‘The implementation of SHPA’s Specialty Practice, Residency Program, Mentoring Program and support for Advancing Practice credentialing, among many other initiatives, are all testament to Professor Dooley’s vision and passion to inspire others.’

In accepting the recognition from members, Professor Dooley reiterated the need to maintain focus on the future needs of the individual, the profession and broader healthcare.

‘It has been my great honour to lead SHPA through a truly transformative phase as we plant seeds for the future.

‘All of our achievements and each of our innovations has been made possible by the expertise and dedication of SHPA members, and their willingness to embrace new ideas and novel approaches to practice, which is essential to keep the profession moving forward.

Professor Dooley also announced the election of Dr Jacinta Johnson as Vice President and David Brennan as Treasurer, completing SHPA’s Board leadership team for 2019.

Taken from SHPA Media Release 25 November 2018

Share this article

Back to latest news stories

StrawberrySolutions JUN 23