Bringing Associations Together To Boost Performance


Deaf Golf Australia celebrates 50 years

Members of Deaf Golf Australia (DGA) celebrated a key milestone – 50 Years of Deaf Golf Australian Championships from 1971 through to 2021. The event was held online using ZOOM technology which made it possible for members in all states of Australia to come together to share memories and highlights.

The 50 year milestone was originally planned to be celebrated at the conclusion of the 26th Deaf Golf Australian Championships at the Novotel Vines Country & Golf Resort in Perth, Western Australia on 26th October. Unfortunately due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the championships were cancelled and alternative plans were made to celebrate the 50 year anniversary online.

A five-minute video montage of DGA Champions spanning 50 years was viewed online. The 1982-83 men’s champion Greg Strachan, one of the original golfers to tee off in the very first “official” Australian Deaf Golf Association Championships at Royal Perth Golf Club in 1971, was on hand to celebrate with members online last night.

Key milestones spanning 50 Years :

• Total 29 men qualified to represent Australia to the World Deaf Golf Championships (since 1995)

• Total eight women qualified to represent Australia to the World Deaf Golf Championships (since 2002)

• Three Australians won the Men’s World Deaf Golf Championships - Denver Magnusson (VIC) in 2008 (Perth, Aust), Jack McLeod (NSW) in 2012 (Japan), Jack Besley (VIC) in 2014 (USA)

• Linda Davis was the sole Australian to win the Ladies World Championship three times (2004 Sweden, 2006 Canada and 2008 Perth, Australia) • The men’s Team won the World Deaf Golf Team Championships twice in 2012 (Japan) and 2018 (Ireland)

• The Ladies Team won the World Deaf Golf Ladies Team Championships once in 2008 (Aust)

• DGA celebrated growth over the years with average number of golfers in each event growing from 16 in 1971 through to more than 40 (up to the last nationals which was held in Launceston, Tasmania 2019).

DGA concluded the night’s celebrations with a flag handover ceremony to Deaf Golf Queensland (DGQ) the host state for the next Championships to be held at the RACV Royal Pines Resort, Gold Coast Queensland in August, 2023. The event will be the qualifying event for the World Deaf Golf Championships to be held at the same venue one year later in 2024.



Taken from Golf Australia

Share this article

Back to latest news stories

HigherLogic NOV 22
Intuto - Web Banner