Bringing Associations Together To Boost Performance


ACTA appoints new Chair and Director

The Australian Clinical Trials Alliance (ACTA) is delighted to announce Prof Steve Webb MBBS MPH PhD FCICM FRACP FAHMS as its new Chair at the Clinical Trials 2021: National Tribute and Award Ceremony. Prof Webb is a founding Director of ACTA.

After seven years of service, Prof John Zalcberg OAM, MBBS PhD FRACP FRACMA FAHMS FAICD, Founding Director and Inaugural Chair of ACTA, has retired from the role of Chair but remains on the Board.

"It has been a great honour to have served as Chair of ACTA’s Board of Directors," said Prof Zalcberg. "I am incredibly proud of our accomplishments since incorporation in 2014. We have helped to bring the investigator-led clinical trials and clinical quality registry sectors together. We have advocated for evidence-based medicine by promoting the critical importance of high-quality clinical trials through clinical trial networks and trial coordinating centres, and real-world evidence through clinical quality registries. I am confident in our future and Steve's leadership as we continue to grow and expand our impact."

"I'm genuinely delighted that Steve has accepted the post of Chair," said Prof Zalcberg. "He has exceptional and world-class experience in the design and conduct of innovative clinical trials and a deep understanding of the needs of the sector."

Prof Webb is a senior staff specialist in Intensive Care Medicine at Royal Perth Hospital, Professor of Critical Care Research, Department of Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine, School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine, Monash University, and Director of Clinical Trials, St John of God Hospital, Subiaco. He conducts clinical trials that provide definitive guidance on optimal management for patients with various forms of critical illness.

"ACTA's Members and the work they do are vital to public health and the continual improvement of Australia's health services. It's an enormous privilege to have the opportunity to Chair ACTA," said Prof Webb.

"John has delivered outstanding leadership and has long been a source of inspiration to me and many others in our sector, and I thank him for his tireless dedication," he said.

ACTA also welcomes its new Independent Director, Mr Ian A R Wilson FCPA, AGIA, ACIS, MAICD. Mr Wilson has held senior finance positions in Australia, Europe and North America and currently works with the Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health. He has extensive and directorial experience with medical and allied health peak bodies and will be a valuable addition to the Board.

This appointment brings ACTA's Board to 10 members in total, of which 4 are Independent Directors.

Taken from ACTA media release. 

Back to latest news stories

Higher Logic May 2024
City of Newcastle