Bringing Associations Together To Boost Performance


Broker association appoints new president

A broker association has welcomed a new president, a new VP and two new board members, after the “founding fathers” vacated their seats to “make way” for new directors.

Equipment finance broker and the managing director of Atlas Broker, Matthew Atkin, has been appointed as the new president of the Commercial & Asset Finance Brokers Association (CAFBA) of Australia.

Mr Atkin was formerly the vice president of the broker group and was elected as the president of CAFBA on a three-year term at the body’s annual general meeting (AGM) on Thursday (26 November).

He takes over from former president and “founding father” David Gandolfo, who decided to step down from the board to “make way” for new directors.

Similarly, “founding father” and former company secretary Terry Moody also stepped down from the board to “provide the opportunity for others to contribute and offer fresh ideas”.

The two gentlemen spearheaded the 2007-2008 merger between the Australian Asset Finance Association (AAFA) and the Australian Equipment Finance Association (AEFA), which formed CAFBA.

While Mr Gandolfo and Mr Moody are no longer members of the board, they will still be involved with the association.

They have both now been named as “patrons of CAFBA” and will to continue to “provide mentorship and advice to the board”. 

Mr Gandolfo has also been appointed as chair of the CAFBA Advocacy Committee and will continue his lobbying activities on the association’s behalf while Mr Moody will continue as chair of the CAFBA Education Council. 

In his first address to members as president, Mr Atkin said he was “humbled” to have been elected president.

“Having served as vice president over the past three years, I am well aware of the task involved, and am very much looking forward to growing the association as the most relevant for commercial finance brokers. There is always so much more to do,” Mr Atkin said.

He continued: “Our constitution requires a rotation of board positions, to provide for stability and succession planning. That meant that this year, four board positions became vacant: the president, vice president, treasurer and company secretary. 

“In the interests of promoting new talent to the board, both David Gandolfo and Terry Moody decided not to renominate for a board position, to provide the opportunity for others to contribute and offer fresh ideas. 

“This epitomises the character of both David and Terry, who are the ‘founding fathers’ of CAFBA, having been responsible for the merger of the two state-based associations in 2008. Their commitment to the industry has been life-long, and thankfully it will continue,” the new CAFBA president said, noting their new positions.

“We owe both a great deal of gratitude for the commitment to the industry,” Mr Atkin added.

The CAFBA board now comprises:

  • President: Matthew Atkin
  • Vice President: Domenic Lo Surdo
  • Company Secretary: Ian Elkner
  • Treasurer: Sharon Piening
  • Neil Ferguson
  • George Karam
  • Renee Tocco
  • Mike Steel
  • Max McFarlane
  • Rebecca Mansfield

“Much of the strength of CAFBA is the strength of its board, and we are very fortunate to have so much experience and talent available,” Mr Atkin said.

He concluded: “I am genuinely looking forward to the next three years, because this a great industry and a great association, and I look forward to meeting as many members as possible as we resume activities in 2021.”

Taken from The Adviser article November 2020.

Share this article

Back to latest news stories